Guest Blog : Enid Wilson

So excited to be hosting Enid Wilson today.

Enid is the author of The Spinsters Vow, a brilliant twist to a classic.  Enid graciously agreed to dissect the 99th page of her novel for our reading enjoyment!

 

A Woman of Wit

 

Thank you Ashley for hosting me today. Ashley has given me a fun subject to blog about. She asked me to pick the 99th page of any of my nine novels to talk about.

 

I’ve chosen my latest historical romance “The Spinster’s Vow: Mrs. Darcy’s Journal to Love”. The 99th page featured a heated argument between Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet, about Wickham. In this Pride and Prejudice-inspired story, Mr. Wickham was in fact the heir to Longbourn and a cousin of Elizabeth. Here is an excerpt:

 

I did not like his raised voice, and so I retorted, “How am I to know? He is my cousin!”

“Whom you have only known for a day!” Mr. Darcy said.

“I have only known you for a short duration, as well!” I replied.

“Have I done anything, during our short acquaintance, to make you doubt my integrity?”

“I still do not know you well!”

“You believed that I took away his inheritance – something entitled to him – took it from a childhood friend of mine, no less? And left him at the mercy of others?”

“Mr. Wickham was very charming. He sounded altogether sincere when he related the circumstances to me.”

Mr. Darcy’s eyes flashed. “Suspicion certainly does not seem to be within your inclination.”

“Are you accusing me of ignorance?” My voice raised another notch, as well.

“I thought I had found a woman of wit as my partner for life.”

“Now you accuse me of being a simpleton?”

 

In this refashioning of Jane Austen’s classic, Mr. Bennet had gone missing. Mr. Darcy met a melancholic but spirited Elizabeth Bennet who had vowed to remain a spinster until she found her father.

 

A debauchery at a masquerade forced the couple to marry. Misunderstanding ensued and it took the couple a journey across the continent to search for Elizabeth’s father before they realised their love for each other.

 

I hope you like this new take of P&P. Comment below to have a chance to win an ebook version of The Spinter’s Vow. Tell me about your witty partner. Contest opens to worldwide readers and closes on 30 April

 

******

Author Bio

 

Enid Wilson loves sexy romance. Her writing career began with a daily newspaper, writing educational advice for students. She then branched out into writing marketing materials and advertising copy. She loves food, travel and tennis.

 

Enid’s novels has been ranked in the top 50 best-selling historical romances on Amazon USA, the top 30 best-selling Regency romances on Amazon Canada, the top 21 romantic short stories on Amazon UK and the top 39 British mysteries on Amazon. Enid loves to hear from her readers. Visit her at www.enidwilson.com

3 thoughts on “Guest Blog : Enid Wilson

  1. Few things tickle my interest like new interpretations of classics. And I’ve been a “Pride and Prejudice” fan ever since I saw the BBC production serialized on PBS.
    That “Spinster’s Vow” cover has a lot going for it — masks, a top hat, a ship’s silhouette… You’ve also done some intriguing things with the premise. Thanks for dropping in to share a taste, Enid! (And, of course, a tip o’ the hat to the hostess!)

  2. Thanks Deshipley for dropping by. Darcy and Elizabeth went for a “road” trip to Corsica, that’s why the ship in the front cover. And I love BBC production of P&P. Colin Firth is perfect Darcy material.

Your Turn!

