Blog Party for Donna Brown

Donna Brown, admin of one of the most successful indie websites around, joins us today from the UK to discuss her NaNoWriMo 2011 adventure!

Name: Donna Brown

 

Blog/Website Address: http://bookbagsandcatnaps.com / http://adoptanindie.bookbagsandcatnaps.com

 

Tell us about you: I’m self-employed and live in Yorkshire, UK with my husband and our six cats.

 

NaNoWriMo is a lot of work, so we all want to know, what inspired you to join the writeathon?:  I’ve had an idea in mind for a long time and I knew if I didn’t do something like NaNoWriMo, I’d never get it down on paper.

 

Do you have a plot idea, how about character description? My character is a man called Harry Schmidt.  A couple of years ago I wrote a short story about Harry that began when he inadvertently killed his mother with a shoe.  I liked the story but always felt I’d sold Harry a little short so I wanted to write a novel about him.

 

If so, how much pre-writeathon work have you done?:  I’m not going to use any of my previous writing but I have gone through it and my notes to keep the ideas fresh in my mind.  Other than that, not much!

 

If not, why not?: Two reasons. 1) It’s my first NaNoWriMo so I’m not sure how to prepare in a way that works for me – I guess I’ll know next year!  2) I’m working on  ‘Adopt an Indie’ month, which is also happening in November and trying to bring bloggers, readers and indie authors together.

 

What do you think your biggest personal challenge will be when it comes to NaNoWriMo? (examples: time, other obligations, consistency of participation, writers block…):  Definitely time and discipline.  There are about 140 authors taking part in ‘Adopt an Indie’ and then there are around 50 book bloggers and readers galore.  I like to make sure I stay in touch and support people.  I’m going to have to be really disciplined about NaNoWriMo time!

 

What sort of experience are you bringing to the table? (examples: already an author): Not a lot.  I mostly write short stories but my husband, David, he’s the author of the house.  That’s one of the reasons I’m doing it: I don’t know how I’ll ever commit to a novel otherwise.  I’m too flighty with my ideas!

 

If you’re already a writer, what your the “normal novel” pace?  Given no restrictions on time, how long would you say it takes you to write 50,000 words?

 

Do you plan to keep working on this book/novella/script post-NaNo?: Definitely.  Even if I don’t do anything with it other than finish it, edit it, edit it some more, read it and keep it in a cupboard, I think I’ll regret it if I don’t tell Harry’s story.

2 thoughts on “Blog Party for Donna Brown

  1. Thank you so much for posting this interview. I’ve managed about 10,000 words so far so I’m without doubt behind on NaNoWriMo standards but there’s still time for a big push. Adopt an Indie month was bigger than expected! Still, so far it’s been a great experience and one I’d definitely hope to repeat!

Your Turn!

