Blog Party for Rebekah Webb

Rebekah Webb writes anything that suits her fancy, and she’s attacking NaNo with that mentality this year.  She gave me this interview about her adventures in NaNo land…

Name: Rebekah Webb

 

Blog/Website Address:

www.carjohnson.com

http://carjohnsonrocks.wordpress.com/

 

Tell us about you:

I’m a writing from California. I recently published a comedy e-book (which was not a NaNo story.)

 

If you’re a writer–professionally speaking–what is your “normal novel” pace?  Given no restrictions on time, how long would you say it takes you to write 50,000 words?:

It would still take me about a month. My normal pace of writing is about 1,000-1,700 words a day if I’m going at a comfortable pace, provided I don’t get a case of the lazies.

 

This isn’t your first NaNoWriMo…tell us about your first time?:

My first NaNo was last year. I’d put off signing up for the longest time, as I was working on a novel that was taking up all my time and I didn’t want to start one just for November. Well, that novel was stagnating and I realized I should just go for it with something  completely new (which turned out to be horror.) That completely new novel became something I could actually work with and the stagnate novel that I spent so much time on became a short story.

 

Since there is an end goal–which makes you a “winner”–did you win and reach 50k?  How many words total did you write (more or less or dead even)?:

I ended up with a little over 50,000 words. I would have had more, but a lot of things were going on in my life that conspired to make my first NaNo the most difficult possible.

 

NaNoWriMo is a lot of work, so we all want to know, what initially inspired you to join the writeathon movement and keep you coming back for more?:

I wanted to see if I could slay the procrastination demon and actually write. In other words, I wanted to force myself to stop the “Oh I’ll do it later” attitude that plagued me. As for coming back for more, it’s a lot of fun.

 

What were some of the things you took away with you–lessons you’d pass on to a newcomer and things you’d personally do different this year?:

My first NaNo taught me a lot of things, mainly to actually do what works for me when writing. Before, I was attempting to write an epic fantasy, despite the fact that I prefer science fiction and really don’t like much epic  fantasy. And I made an extensive outline, even though I write best with a minimal outline. Basically, I was a moron trying to write a genre I don’t like and in a way that isn’t compatible with my brain. That’s the best advice I have for people:

Don’t be a moron. Writing is like any other skill. Figure out where your strengths and weaknesses are, not someone else’s.

 

What was the hardest part?:

The hardest part was actually all the stuff that was going on outside of NaNo. We’re talking family strife, broken computers and trips to the library to use their internet.

 

What was the easiest part?:

The actual writing.

What do you think your biggest personal challenge will be when it comes to NaNoWriMo this year? (examples: time, other obligations, consistency of participation, writers block)

Actually, I think it’ll be a lot easier this year. Of course, that might lull me into a false sense of security and cause me to procrastinate, but I’m bound and determined not to let that happen.

 

Do you plan to pursue your NaNoWriMo story past the November 30th deadline?:

Yes. I did it with last year’s story and I see no reason not to do the same thing this year.

 

What happened to your story–did you publish it?  Junk it?  Still working on it? (this is the place where it is A-O.K to mention a published book if that published book came from NaNoWriMo’s of the past):

I edited it and it is currently on submission at a small press. They respond to every request they get, so I’ll just have to wait and see what happens.

 

Since you’re obviously back for more–tell us–what prep work have you done for 2011 NaNo?  Do you have a strong plot mapped out?  Character development?  What are you current plans?:

I’m going to do the same thing I did last year. I’ll make an outline of plot ideas three days before November 1st and use those to craft the novel.

 

Do you plan to keep working on this book/novella/script post-NaNo?

Of course. Otherwise, it would just go to waste.

Your Turn!

