Blog Party for Kate Hawkings

We have our very first virgin folks!!

Joining us from across the pond is author of The Chimaera Chronicles, Kate Hawkings.  Kate is a fan of ice hockey, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, mauy thai, chocolate and baking…this is her break out NaNoWriMo and I’m super pleased she agreed to be featured on the blog!

Name: Kate Hawkings

 

-Blog/Website Address: http://katherinehawkings.blogspot.com/

 

-Tell us about you: I’m just a kiwi girl finding my way in the big ol’ world. I’m currently living in Leeds, England with my lovely partner, who’s very understanding about the amount of time I spend on my laptop (and avoiding the washing-up). I love to read and I spend every spare moment writing.

 

-NaNoWriMo is a lot of work, so we all want to know, what inspired you to join the writeathon?: I’m quite competitive, whether I’m going up against someone else or just racing towards a deadline. I’m very ‘finish line’ orientated. Earlier this year I entered a similar challenge to write 50,000 words in 50 days which I loved and it really helped me nail my first draft.

 

-Do you have a plot idea, how about character description? Yes, I have a plot idea. It’s something I’ve wanted to write for a long time and is kinda a huge secret because someone has been waiting for me to write it a long time but I’ve just not had the chance.

 

-If so, how much pre-writeathon work have you done?: Not as much as I should have. I’m currently editing my debut novel, which is being released early next year, it’s kept be fairly busy. I’m going to try and squeeze in as much planning time as possible over the next week. At the moment I know how I’m going to start the project, but I think I’ll stall at around 10,000 words because I have no idea where I want it to go after that.

 

-What do you think your biggest personal challenge will be when it comes to NaNoWriMo? (examples: time, other obligations, consistency of participation, writers block…): My biggest challenge? I’m not sure which will be the BIGGEST challenge, but there are several which can become problems. I work night hours, which seems to kill my muse and can make the smallest task take forever, I’m also one of those people who gets distracted really easily too.

 

-What sort of experience are you bringing to the table? I’ve been writing steadily for just over a year, and I have my debut novel coming out on February 28th. I’m working on getting at least one other project out next year too.

 

-If you’re already a writer, what your the “normal novel” pace?  Given no restrictions on time, how long would you say it takes you to write 50,000 words? A month would probably be standard, if my ‘real’ work doesn’t interrupt too much. Depending on how easily the words are flowing I could finish 50,000 words any time between three weeks and two months.

 

-Do you plan to keep working on this book/novella/script post-NaNo?: Yes, most definitely. Certain people have been waiting for this book for a long time. I really want to be able to talk about it with my lovely beta-readers. Usually I’m very open about what I’m working on and they read as I go, not being able to share is going to feel really strange.

One thought on “Blog Party for Kate Hawkings

Your Turn!

