Trick or Treat!! Happy Halloween!!

Halloween may possibly be my favorite Holiday.  For me, it’s always the been the night where anything can happen, where the lines of reality and make believe blur for the span of 24 hours–you can be anything, anyone you want–you can be dark and dangerous, sexy and coy, sweet and adorable, silly and absurd.  The possibilities of who you can be are limited only by your own creativity.  What a glorious thing!

As an adult, I adore carved pumpkins that cast shadows with tea-lights.  I love handing out candy to children dressed adorably in costumes who remember to say thank you as you drop handfuls of sugary treats in their plastic orange pumpkins.  I crave spiced cider and a warm fire-pit that is all embers and woodsmoke.  Ahhhh…Heaven!

When I was a teenager, I used to trick-or-treat with my neighborhood friends…we’d go for miles, stopping back by the houses for grilled cheese and tomato soup, pizza and desserts.  We’d dump our pillowcases on the floor once they were too heavy for our little arms and plot our next attack.  Halloween night seemed to go on forever back then, and we’d stay out until the houses shut off their lights and closed their doors and no more candy was to be had.

As a child, my Dad always took me treat-or-treating.  We’d go with other families, the kids running full steam ahead while the parents leisured behind with beers and thermoses of something a bit stronger.  I’d dress as a ballerina or princess…but my favorite costume of all time was Dorothy, complete with a wicker basket (which I gleefully filled with sugary offerings) and my very own ruby slippers that my Mom had made–dozens of crystals, glued on by hand over the kitchen table.  My Dad likes to tell the story of how those shoes pinched my toes so badly that 10 houses into the event, he had to carry me.

Halloween was always the moment when you got to pluck your alter-ego from the shelf and decide for yourself who you wanted to be–and be rewarded for it.  The magic has never died, it’s only managed to change.  I no longer dress up–but applaud the adults who do.  I am now the holder of the “treat”…and I get more joy from dropping candy bars into the waiting bags than I ever got from being the one doing the collecting.  I buy the biggest pumpkin at the farm, and decorate the house to thrill the little ones.  I love Halloween–and always have.

Naturally, I’m very much looking forward to tonight and I just wanted to wish you all a fun, safe (!!!!), and happy Halloween!

 

Do you have any special Halloween plans?  Memories?  Are you dressing up or dressing it down?  Feel free to share!!

2 thoughts on “Trick or Treat!! Happy Halloween!!

  1. “For me, it’s always the been the night where anything can happen, where the lines of reality and make believe blur for the span of 24 hours–you can be anything, anyone you want–you can be dark and dangerous, sexy and coy, sweet and adorable, silly and absurd. The possibilities of who you can be are limited only by your own creativity.” — if that’s the spirit of Halloween, then huzzah: I carry it with me all year long!
    Wonderful pumpkin pic, by the way. Did you carve it yourself? ^^

Your Turn!

