The Sort Of Rejection I Can Get Behind….

And no, this has nothing to do with yours truly…

Casey Anthony consumed my summer.  I watched very moment of the trial, and I followed the case for much longer than that.  Adorably sweet Caylee Anthony went missing on the coattails of Stacey Peterson–who lived the next town over from where I reside.  Naturally, I followed the coverage of one case into the next.  Praying the little girl would be found and harboring such disgust for the ‘mother’ who couldn’t be bothered to report her daughter missing for 30 days because her supposed La Bella Vita was just too precious.  I was touched and bothered on all levels.

Casey Anthony, while found not-guilty in a court of law, will always be guilty in the eyes and minds of the public opinion.  She’s a monster, a cold hearted, manipulative monster–the stuff nightmares are made of.  And man, how I wished things had worked out differently…

Casey Anthony, aside from being a real life villain, also is in critical debt.  She needs money and with no formal eduction to fall back on, she has decided to write a book.  Only, here’s the catch, like so many authors, she can’t seem to place it with a publisher.

Sucks to be her.

Here’s the story:

Casey has interest from NBC for an interview, which I’m sure would give her access to copious amounts of cash (shame on you, NBC).  Only, her demands aren’t Twizzlers or only blue M&M’s in the greenroom and a particular brand of bottle water served at room temp.  She wants something a bit more substantial … Casey wants the producer to find a home for her book.

Normally, that sort of clout (I can only imagine) would have serious weight when it comes to closing deals.  But, Casey is persona non grata…and the big 6 won’t touch her or her book with a 10 foot pole.

Hurray big 6, you’ve all earned my gold-star-sticker of the day!

The quotes only add to the simple pleasure of knowing she won’t be able to profit from the death of her child:

Simon and Schuster:  “We are 100% not interested.  We are NOT NOT NOT  interested. Simon & Schuster is not publishing, and has never intended to publish, any book by Casey Anthony, her family, or any member of her team.

Harper Collins: “We are planning on publishing the Prosecutor’s book who was involved in the Casey Anthony case, so we have no plans in releasing a Casey Anthony book.  We’re sticking with the prosecutor.”

Penguin Group:  “We have no plans on doing a book deal with Casey Anthony.”

Another publisher went so far as to say, “Hell no … it’s blood money.”

My thoughts:

Normally, rejections cause me moments of sadness…not this time!  I have to say…if anyone was ever deserving of being turned away from the gates based on the morality and vitriol of the book they’re peddling…it’s all Casey Anthony, for sure.

So, Authors…any thoughts on the matter?

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Sort Of Rejection I Can Get Behind….

  1. that’s good News for a Change
    No Book Deal for Casey Anthony, at least not at this time.
    Some People still know right from wrong, it is refreshing to know that.
    Why would any one be interested to read anything Casey Anthony have to say.
    She had Three whole Years to open her Mouth and chose not too and when she did she lied about everything and to any one who would listen, therefore why would any one think it would be different if she would write a Book. Most of all who would want to read it, I know I wouldn’t.
    Jeff Ashton’s Book I will buy and I am looking forward for it to be available next Month.
    My Wish is that Casey Anthony and All those People who lied and covered up for her for over 3 Years will get what they deserve in the End.
    Through their Actions they disrespected the true Victim,Caylee Marie and robbed her of the Justice she so deserved. JMO

    • I keep getting stuck on the pathological liar thing…

      Books like what she’d be selling–a biography–are usually written from a place of truth. I believe Casey Anthony and the truth are strangers. Anything she’d write–it wouldn’t be worth the paper it was printed on. It would be a book if LIES. No different than the 1001 stories she concocted when she was trying to save her life…

      It does thrill me to see censorship at work. I’m all for the first amendment, but I also take root in the purposed Caylee’s Law, which is, no profit off the death of a child if said person has been accused of the crime.

Your Turn!

